NATT+ Postcard Competition 2012 – The Winners

The National Association of Teachers of Travellers and Other Professionals have announced the winners of 2012’s GRTHM competition “Postcard Celebrations”.

NATT+ produced a set of postcards that compared images from 1952 and 2012. Children and young people were invited to complete the reverse of the postcards with stories, poems, collages, photographs, drawings or paintings inspired by the images on the cards and research into Gypsy, Roma and Traveller history and culture.

The winners are:

Foundation Stage

1st Place: Carol Ward.
Northwood Primary School, Darlington.

2nd Place: Catherine Cobb.
High Halden CE Primary School, Ashford in Kent.

3rd Place: Talia Traylen.
Hounslow Traveller Education Service

Highly Commended

  • Cottage Preschool group, Lewes
  • Martha Cunningham.  Dodmire School, Darlington
  • Downey Pattison. St Teresa’s RC School, Darlington
  • Summer Puttick. Stepping Stones Pre-school, East Sussex
  • Henry Maher. Stepping Stones Pre-school, East Sussex

Key Stage 1

1st Place: Weston Doran and Quentin Doran. The Coombes C of E Primary School, Berkshire
2nd Place: Year 1 group. St. Sebastian’s, Wokingham.
3rd Place: Anna Snow. Birstow Primary School, Surrey

Highly Commended

  • Angerline Clarke. All Saints C of E Primary, Wokingham
  • Rosie Bamling. St. Albans Catholic Primary School, Gateshead
  • Sam Price. Holy Family Catholic School, Wigan

Lower Key Stage 2

1st Place: Sammy Russett and Robert Russett.
Wellow Primary School, East Sussex

2nd Place: Tommy Doran.
Bearwood Primary, Bershire

3rd Place: Michael Brain Clarke and Jimmy Jones.
All Saints C of E Primary School, Wokingham

Highly Commended

  • Elizabeth Wall. Rivacre Valley Primary School, Cheshire
  • Huighie Quinn. Landchester Endowed Parochial Primary, Durham
  • Hope Price. Willingham Primary School, Cambridge
  • Year 3 group. St Sebastian’s, Wokingham

Upper Key Stage 2

1st Place: Tanya Maloney.
West Blatchington Primary School, Brighton and Hove

2nd Place: Lucie Stubbings.
Harefield Junior School, Middlesex

3rd Place: Sharmaine Clarke.
St. Crispin’s School, Wokingham

Highly Commended

  • Jenny Doyle. St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Brighton and Hove
  • Jack Luke. St Alban’s Catholic Primary School, Gateshead
  • Lovell Maughan. St Anne’s C of E School, Weston Super Mare

Key Stage 3

1st Place: Kelly Ann.
Carmel College, Darlington

2nd Place: Charliey-Marie Moore.
Carmel College, Darlington

3rd Place: Brian Smith.
Archbishop Holgates, York.

Highly Commended

  • Autumn Chadwick. Town Moor Fair School, Newcastle upon Tune
  • Adriana Smith. Carmel College, Darlington
  • Shannade Jones and Libby Smith. The Harefield Academy, Middlesex

Key Stage 4

1st Place: Laura Baker.
Cromwell Community College, Cambridgeshire

2nd Place: Simona Haurlova.
Trinity Catholic College, Middlesborough

3rd Place: Shannon Allan.
The Pinefield Centre, Merseyside

Highly Commended

  • Anna Plachetkova. Trinity Catholic College, Middlesbrough
  • Susie Smith. College Central, Newhaven
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Events

    << Aug 2019 >>
    29 30 31 1 2 3 4
    5 6 7 8 9 10 11
    12 13 14 15 16 17 18
    19 20 21 22 23 24 25
    26 27 28 29 30 31 1
  • Gypsy Roma Traveller History Month

    GRTHM started in Brent in 2001. With endorsement from Parliament in 2007 GRTHM went national in 2008 and is now celebrated throughout the UK each June.

  • Events

    • No events